Shavua Tov!

27 01 2007

So, my Shabbat was excellent.  Dinner last night was amazing; We had salad with strawberries, AND my favorite pie. 

There was also a really great speaker who came to talk to us about Judaism and her faith/practice while she was in Iraq with the army.  Hearing her talk about all she went through to observe Shabbat and the holidays while she was there made me feel like I really have no excuse for complaining about how hard it is when I’m home with my family.  Also she had some great stories, and was a charismatic and articulate speaker.  

She did mention one person who she met over there who was a convert, and didn’t even know what a parsha or a chumash was.  This just baffels me, how can someone convert and not have at least that basic knowledge?  Even if he converted reform (which he did, that was his explanation for lighting candles late, not drinking kosher wine, and not using Hebrew in services) how did his rabbi let him convert without explaining about weekly Torah readings, or anything like that?  I know this is probably unaccepting and bigoted of me, but people like that really bother me.  They’re making my life that much harder, look at what’s going on with the treatment of converts by the Israeli Chief rabbi lately (Specifically his not accepting diaspora conversions over the summer, and his more recent move to remove converts from getting citizenship under Right of Return.)  Does that make me a bigot, or just practical? 

Anyway, it was a great talk, and a really fun dinner.  Hopefully it will be an equally good week. 🙂

Actions

Information

16 responses

30 01 2007
Jewish Thinker

Reform Judaism isn’t all that bad now. 😉

There’s more to being Jewish than rituals and practices. Some find comfort in them and others find that they limit one’s relationship with G-d. The beautiful thing in all of this is that we both share a common heritage, history and idea of what this life is all about.

I wouldn’t call you a bigot at all, you have strong beliefs. That’s what our religion is about.

BTW, if you couldn’t tell, I’m Reform.

Cheers!

30 01 2007
Emily

Ok, I do want to clarify this, because I wasn’t setting out to attack Reform Judaism. What I objected to wasn’t that he chose to act in a way contradictory to the Orthodox understanding of what Jewish ritual was about, but that he didn’t appear to be making those choices because of some conviction, it was simply because he was reform, so why bother? If he had decided that while he was couldn’t light candles on time, what mattered was that he lit them at all, and that was his way of honoring Shabbat (which is the position taken by the Reform minyan on my campus) or if he did services in English because he found more meaning in praying in a language he understood than he did in the tradition (again, I think this is a valid opinion) then I would have had no objection. But that’s not the case, which is clear because he didn’t have even the basic knowladge that he would have gained had he made even a cursory effort to study Jewish tradition, even from a reform point of view. It’s been a while since I’ve been to Reform services, but if I recall correctly you do read the parsha every week, and have chumashim. 🙂 Does that make sense?

12 04 2008
sally

You speak as though this person knows what he doesn’t know. Silly. As if he is making a choice not to know more any differently than any other reform jew born into Judaism. You have no way of telling what he is choosing to ignore, and what he is simply completely ignorant of. If he has been officially converted by someone, that person knows what he doesn’t know, but he doesn’t. What upsets you seems to be the reform Rabbi, or reform judaism itself. This guy is a red herring. There are plenty of Jewish-born people at my conservative synagogue who can’t read hebrew. I learned how to read Hebrew. Does this mean I think they should have to use a siddur with no transliteration? It doesn’t. Nor that I am necessarily more devout or dedicated than they. I have simply made different choices, as have you.

And, you know, he and they aren’t making your life harder. The Chief Rabbi is.

28 12 2008
Corey

It’s clear that you are angry about a rabbi allowing this person to convert to Judaism without having even a basic understanding of the religion. I understand your position, but, it’s not our place to judge this person or the Rabbi. That is G-d’s dominion alone. Our purpose to educate and to show empathy for that person’s path in life. Like the simple son at the Passover table, we should explain why the Sabbath candles must be lit at the appropriate time, show this person what a gift welcoming Shabbat into his home can be. Allow him the courtesy of learning at his own pace.

30 01 2009
MaleSexToys

It’s clear that you are angry about a rabbi allowing this person to convert to Judaism without having even a basic understanding of the religion. I understand your position, but, it’s not our place to judge this person or the Rabbi. That is G-d’s dominion alone. Our purpose to educate and to show empathy for that person’s path in life. Like the simple son at the Passover table, we should explain why the Sabbath candles must be lit at the appropriate time, show this person what a gift welcoming Shabbat into his home can be. Allow him the courtesy of learning at his own pace.

30 01 2009
Male Masturbator

You speak as though this person knows what he doesn’t know. Silly. As if he is making a choice not to know more any differently than any other reform Jew born into Judaism. You have no way of telling what he is choosing to ignore, and what he is simply completely ignorant of. If he has been officially converted by someone, that person knows what he doesn’t know, but he doesn’t. What upsets you seems to be the reform Rabbi, or reform Judaism itself. This guy is a red herring. There are plenty of Jewish-born people at my conservative synagogue who can’t read Hebrew. I learned how to read Hebrew. Does this mean I think they should have to use a siddur with no transliteration? It doesn’t. Nor that I am necessarily more devout or dedicated than they. I have simply made different choices, as have you.

30 01 2009
Get Bigger Breast

There’s more to being Jewish than rituals and practices. Some find comfort in them and others find that they limit one’s relationship with G-d. The beautiful thing in all of this is that we both share a common heritage, history and idea of what this life is all about.

30 01 2009
Legal Hallucinogens

Ok, I do want to clarify this, because I wasn’t setting out to attack Reform Judaism. What I objected to wasn’t that he chose to act in a way contradictory to the Orthodox understanding of what Jewish ritual was about, but that he didn’t appear to be making those choices because of some conviction, it was simply because he was reform, so why bother?

30 01 2009
Increase Semen Volume

There are plenty of Jewish-born people at my conservative synagogue who can’t read Hebrew. I learned how to read Hebrew. Does this mean I think they should have to use a siddur with no transliteration? It doesn’t. Nor that I am necessarily more devout or dedicated than they. I have simply made different choices, as have you.

30 01 2009
Legal Highs

I wouldn’t call you a bigot at all, you have strong beliefs. That’s what our religion is about.

30 01 2009
Buy Ecstasy

It’s been a while since I’ve been to Reform services, but if I recall correctly you do read the parsha every week, and have chumashim. 🙂 Does that make sense?

17 12 2009
Благовещенск знакомства би

я считаю: превосходно…

13 06 2010
name

6

21 03 2012
Mlm Prospecting

“There’s more to being Jewish than rituals and practices. Some find comfort in them and others find that they limit one’s relationship with G-d….”

I Can totally agree with you !

Amir

21 03 2012
Mlm Prospecting

“There’s more to being Jewish than rituals and practices. Some find comfort in them and others find that they limit one’s relationship with G-d….”

I Can totally agree with you !

Amir

9 07 2013
Vanessa

First of all I would like to say awesome blog! I had a quick question which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
I was interested to find out how you center yourself and
clear your thoughts prior to writing. I have had a hard time clearing my thoughts in getting
my ideas out there. I truly do enjoy writing however it just
seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend to be lost just trying to figure out how to begin.
Any suggestions or hints? Appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

