Weirdest. Dream. Ever.

3 02 2007

Because I’m not technically Jewish yet, I have to deliberately break Shabbos at some point over the course of the day.  Most days I switch off the light above the sink in  my room before leaving for the day, since I don’t benefit from the light being off (makes no difference for sleeping, reading etc).  Anyway, last night, I dreamt that I had forgotten to turn on the light before Shabbos started, and so I turned it on to break Shabbos when I got back from dinner so I could see well enough to get ready for bed.  Which meant that at the end of my dream the situation matched what was in my room when I woke up, except that I had broken Shabbos already in my dream, but hadn’t in real life.  This would have been fine, if it hadn’t been one of those incredibly vivid dreams where you have to think for quite a while after you wake up to figure out if it was real or not.  It took me about 15 minutes to sort out if I had already broken Shabbos yet, or if I still needed to, and then about 45 minutes of feeling very nerdy for even having dreams like that. 

Goodness….

Actions

Information

4 responses

4 02 2007
muse

It sounds like a very special sort of dream as your subconscious deals with your conscious plans.

4 02 2007
Emily

It’s a very disconcerting sort of dream, although it does make for a rather amusing story. I think it just shows how much of my mind is on this all the time. 🙂

5 02 2007
Esther

I don’t understand why anyone would “have to” break Shabbat, even if they weren’t Jewish yet. Did I miss something?

5 02 2007
Emily

Sorry, here’s the explaination for having to break Shabbat. Shabbat (as a day of rest with all the rule that go along with it) is considered something that G-d gave specifically to the Jewish people, not to other nations, (It’s in Shabbos evening kiddush, and it’s also in the kidushat hayom section of the shachrit amidah) so non Jews aren’t supposed to keep Shabbat in the way Jews do. This is only really something that comes up if you’re converting or seriously learning about B’nei Noach laws, since they’re really the only groups of non-jews who might consider observing Shabbat in a strictly orthodox way. It’s a bi complicated for potential converts, since you should be living an observant life so that you understand what it’s like to be Jewish (they sort of hope that will discourage you), but you’re technically not supposed to observe Shabbat fully. So the solution is that you do one small private thing (carrying something in your pocket outside of an eruv, flipping a light on or off, etc), so you don’t benefit by breaking Shabbat and still get a clear idea of what it would be like, and you don’t confuse other people who know you’re observant into thinking whatever you did is acceptable to do on Shabbat.
I’m not 100% sure why Shabbat observance isn’t placed in the same catagory as learning Torah/Halacha, which is also something that non-Jews arn’t supposed to do, but that limit is waived for converts. Possibly because to have a valid conversion the person needs to understand the choice they are making, so they need to learn at least something beforehand, whereas they don’t need to have kept Shabbat perfectly?
Anyway, did that make sense?

Leave a Reply

