All in all, a wonderful Shabbat

24 02 2007

So, I went into Shabbat this week not looking forward to it at all.  I was half expecting to spend the whole day in my room moping and eating cold food, since I didn’t think Chabad was doing anything (turns out I had just deleted the email by accident) and I’m really wasn’t interested in going to Hillel (for a lot of social reasons) so I was just going to daven in my room, and then sleep as much of the day as I could. 

Fortunately, I found out Friday afternoon that I had just missed the email, and headed to Chabad with a friend for the evening.  It was a wonderful evening, and I got to meet a bunch of new people, and catch up with some old ones.  Also, I went back for lunch today, and I think they were really glad to see me again. I sometimes feel like I’m intruding by being there, since I’m not currently in the group of students they’re trying to support, but when I told them Friday evening that I was coming back for lunch, they seemed genuinely pleased, and then when I left today they said that they were happy to see me today.

Anyway, we had a really interesting discussion at lunch about politics.  Opinion was pretty divided, and it was in many ways more of a passionate argument than anything else.  It really highlighted what I love most about that group, since we can have these long argument/discussions and at the end of it, everyone still likes and respects everyone else.  I wish more people could be like that, since it’s a great was to have a debate.  True, at the end of it, no one’s mind is really changed, but we all see the arguments from the other side, and understand where they’re coming from. 

Anyway, after lunch I read in my room for a while, and then went to Hillel for havdallah, which was actually really fun.  We made kosher smores, and them made Spice boxes (both after havdallah, obviously).  So I now have a havdallah candle, and a spice box.  I’m slowly acquiring all the Judaica I need.   Very slowly, but still.  And my spice box has googly eyes on it.  Does it get any better than that?  I think not!

Shavua Tov!

Actions

Information

2 responses

24 02 2007
TikkunGer

Sounds like a really nice mix things for you this Shabbos. I must say that I am little jealous, mine was a solo effort this week.

Anyhow, what I think is most important (not to mention great) is that not only do you seem to have a solid support network, it also seems to be a diverse one.

Be well.

24 02 2007
Emily

TikkunGer- Yes, I do have an amazing support network. 🙂 I think they’re a lot of why I’m sure I want to convert. I only hope that I can find another community this great when I graduate and move on to real life.
Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

