I love Purim :)

4 03 2007

Crazy party last night.  I wasn’t drinking, and none of my friends were, but I did have (number omitted because it’s embarrassingly large) hamentashen.  yum. 🙂   20 minute megillah reading, which was a bit disappointing, since I was promised 18 minutes, but still quite impressive. 

Anyway, all that aside, I love Purim.  I love the idea that now, we aren’t rescued by miracles,  but through the actions of ordinary people, placed in extraordinary circumstances.  We don’t get plagues now, or pillars of smoke, what we get is one scared girl, stuck in a palace away from her family and her people who has the courage to do the right thing.  We can’t wait for G-d to step in a rescue us with grand gestures, and supernatural miracles, we just need to do the best we can with what we have, and trust that somehow, as bad as it looks now, it will work out.  (Reminds me of the joke about the guy in the flood, where when the flood evacuation notice is sent out, stays in his house saying “G-d will save me”  A few days later, the first floor of his house is flooded, and a boat comes by to rescue him from the second story window.  Again, he stays behind saying “G-d will save me”  A few days later, he’s been forced onto the roof of his house, and a helicopter comes by to pick him up.  Again, he sends them away, saying “G-d will save me.”  The next day, he drowns.  When he gets to heaven, he looks at G-d and asks why G-d didn’t save him.  G-d’s response, “I sent you an evacuation warning, a boat and a helicopter.  What more did you want?”)

Also, the feminist in me would just like to point out that Esther was a girl. 🙂 Yay us! 🙂

I hope you all had a fun Purim.  Only a month till Pesach! *pointedly ignores the fact that her room needs to be cleaned and looks forward to macaroons.*

Actions

Information

2 responses

4 03 2007
muse

The right place at the right time is also a miracle!

4 03 2007
Emily

Muse- Very true, and doing the right thing in that situation is a miracle we can all hope to live up to. I guess that’s what I love about it; It’s achievable. Not everyone can split the sea in two, but we can all (try to) stand up for what’s right.

Leave a Reply

