And now for something completly different!

27 03 2007

Disney Princesses!  🙂  They’re amazing. 

There are really three generations of Disney Princesses:

Cinderella, Snow White and Sleeping Beauty-  These are the original Princesses, the one’s who really started the whole thing.  Old style animation, practically operatic music, and when it comes right down to it, it’s tough to tell the three of them apart.  “Someday my prince will come” would have fit nicely in any of them.  They’re quality movies, I’l watch them if someone else is, but I won’t choose them on my own.  I probably won’t own the DVDs ever, but they’re good.

Pocahontas, Meg (from Hercules), and Mulan – The last Disney Princesses.  These are all fairly modern stories; none of them are really you’re typical Princess, but they all have at least one great female song that most girls know (Just Around the River Bend and Colors of the Wind, I won’t say I’m in Love, and Reflection) Cute movies, but not as good as:

Ariel, Belle, and Jasmine:  These are the Classic Disney Princesses.  The ones where every girl my age (by which I mean from about 20 to 23) can sing all their songs from memory, and do, on a reasonably regular basis. (“Look at this stuff, isn’t it neat, wouldn’t you think my collection’s complete?  Wouldn’t you think I’m the girl, the girl who has everything?”)  These are the movies that we’ll watch over and over again, they’re a generational experience for us.  Amazingly, Disney hasn’t caught on to the fact that girls my age still love these characters in a fairly possessive way.  We would totally still wear clothing with Ariel Jasmine or Belle on it.  Disney, you are totally missing out on a GIANT marketing opportunity here.  Work on that.

 Anyway, this came up because I have discovered a great new way to procrastinate on studying for my Hebrew test.  Watching Disney songs on You-tube …  in Hebrew!   See, it’s great (or really bad, depending on how you look at it) because I can pretend it’s like studying.  Also, it’s fun because I can sometimes understand some of it.  🙂 

Oh well, back to really studying now.  And cleaning, that too.  At least the weather is incredible! 

Edited to add:

Part of Your World

Kiss the Girl

A Whole New World (Love this version. Aladdin is a bass!  Woot!)

One Jump Ahead (This totally fits with the mentality of ‘any number of words will fit any melody if you just push hard enough)

Belle 

Something There

Just Around The River Bend

Colors of the Wind

Reflection

I Won’t Say I’m in Love

Go the Distance

If there are others you want just try searching for the title of the song and “hebrew”  🙂

Actions

Information

4 responses

28 03 2007
Camilla

Haha, I’m a big fan of the princesses too. Maybe not as much as when I was five, but I would definitely wear a Jasmine t-shirt if there was one in my size. Any chance of a link over to those YouTube videos?

28 03 2007
Emily

Added! And I definatly love them just as much as when I was 5. I don’t think I’ve really grown up since then. 🙂

6 04 2007
Ali

hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

3 05 2009
Duck

Oh, I love the princesses! They’re wonderful. I wouldn’t say that the original princesses were clones. Snow White was totally innocent, whereas Cinderella was… more graceful than innocent. (Hey, anyone who has a father that dies and can still face down bullying everyday from their own family… is graceful to me!) Aurora was much more adventurous and independent… I think so, anyway. XD

But I agree. The classic Disney princesses are the best. Disney’s marketing ploys are all over the place… they’re not really thinking logically on a lot of things, I don’t think… *COUGHHANNAHMONTANA*

I personally like to listen to Disney songs in Japanese. I used them to “study” too! 😉

Leave a Reply

