YAY!!!!!!!!!

8 05 2007

I’ll be in Israel this summer**!  WOOHOOO!!!! *Runs around room screaming her head off, laughing like an idiot.* 

Ok, I’m better now.  (Hee, the first time I typed that I typed pretty rather than better.  I amuse myself.) 

As you’ve probably all guessed, the MDA program worked out, and I’ll be in Israel for almost two months this summer; a bit over a month with the program, and a couple weeks after it ends touring around.  Amazingly, my parents are letting me fly out early, and come back late, which is more or less my dream trip.  I’m really blown away by how much trust they’re giving me with this.  They’re letting me fly to a country that they’ve never been to, which is at war constantly, alone.  As frustrated as I might get by them at times, they really do have an awful lot of faith in me. 

I spent yesterday working up a rough itinerary of what I want to do in my touring time.  It’s hard, because I don’t want to schedule too much in any given day, since I want plenty of time to just wander around.  At the same time, I feel like I have to do everything now.  It took me a while to come to grips with the fact that I can’t do everything this trip, and that I don’t have to do everything this trip.  I can always come back; this is not my one chance to see Israel.  In this case, that means no Eilat, no matter how good the diving might be.   It’s just too far away from everything else (How funny is it to say something is too far away in a country the size of NJ?) 

That said, there is no shortage of totally cool stuff to see there.  EEEE!!!!!!  *Starts planning with graphs, and calenders, and guidebooks, and maps, and notebooks, and lists, and pictures* 

I also feel about how I did about going to college.  I have this weird emotional disconnect thing going, where intellectually I know that I’ll be there, but part of me doesn’t believe it, and the rest of me keeps thinking that I’ll be living in another country(for college it was another state) for almost two months (4 years).  That’s really living somewhere, not just visiting anymore.  I’ve never been outside of the US for that long, or that far away from my family (where I can’t just call pretty much whenever I want) and without any friends I know there.  Yeah, I know lots of people with family there, and there will be plenty of people I can turn to if I need help with something, but it’s no one I’ve met before.  My best shot is that a few friends will be there on birthright part of the time, and another will be finishing his study abroad semester when I get there.  I’m really setting out on my own for the first time in my life, and part of me isn’t sure how well I’ll handle it.  What if I get there and I hate it?  What if no one on the program likes me?  What if I can’t actually speak any Hebrew, and I’m totally useless and stand out as a horribly rude tourist? I’ve traveled plenty, and know somewhat how not to seem like a rude American, but still.  The idea of going to another country and expecting everyone to speak my language seems so rude.  At least I’m not the sort of American who goes to Italy and eats at McDonald’s.  Although, I am totally going to get McDonald’s fries as a kosher McDonald’s.  I miss them so very much.   Wow, I’m rambling now, so I’ll stop. 

Feel free to leave suggestions of things I need to see while there!  You know, in Israel…  *EEEEE!!!!!!*

**barring last minute parents deciding I can’t go. 

Actions

Information

11 responses

9 05 2007
tnspr569

Yay for you!!!

As hard as it is to do so, try not to worry about the adaptation concerns. Just do your best. Effort is most important, in my opinion.

As far as what to do, see how many trips you can reasonably schedule, and pick out what interests you most, then ask for input based on that list. People can suggest additions or substitutions, if necessary.

Enjoy it and take lots of pictures!

Oh, and if you’ve been to Florida, then Eilat won’t seem quite as special. Definitely spend time in Judea and Samaria, if possible; two of the most beautiful parts of the country. The Golan is also highly recommended.

Definitely see about meeting fellow J-Bloggers; one of the best ways to get around the country and meet new people. My year wouldn’t have been the same without it.

Haztlacha with everything!

9 05 2007
Emily

Thanks!
From everything I’ve heard, it seems like I’ll have more trouble getting people to let me practice hebrew than I will have from speaking English. And I’ll be over there with a bunch of other American students.
I’m definatly bringing my camera. 🙂 And sending pictures to everyone I know. Perhaps I’ll post some here, if I can figure that out.
As for Judea and Samaria, Mom has asked me not to go into the West Bank (and Gaza too, but no one’s saying I should go there.) We’ll see. Maybe when I get there the situation will look different, and I’ll be able to make a choice then.
🙂 I can’t wait….

9 05 2007
triLcat

I don’t know when you’ll be in – I’m scheduled to give birth in July (due date is the 5th), but you’re welcome to come visit, upload photos, email, blog, etc here. I’m in Modiin, so I don’t know how convenient that’ll be for you. Sorry I can’t offer real hospitality, because this is the first baby, and I just don’t know how I’ll manage with it… I can promise something to eat and something to drink, because we pretty much always have cold mineral water, and we usually have some kind of food.
In any case, feel free to call me (I’ll send you my phone number by email.)

9 05 2007
muse

Wonderful.
We’ll have to f2f

9 05 2007
Emily

TriLcat- Thank you so much for the offer. I’m not sure where I’ll be yet, so we’ll see. Congratulations on your first child, that’s so exciting!
Muse- Like I said, at this point I’m not allowed outside of the Green Line, but I’ll be in J-lem for a while. 🙂 I’m really excited about this trip, it will be so much fun.

11 05 2007
Lilian

So glad you are getting to go! Israel is a wonderful, beautiful and exciting place. Yep, definitely take LOTS of photos!

14 05 2007
Emily

Lilian- Yeah, my camera and a huge pile of batteries is definatly coming with me 🙂 thanks!

22 05 2007
RC

MDA is amazing! I did last summer and it was by far, one of the most rewarding experiences of my life… If you have any questions, feel free to email me.

31 05 2007
Emily

RC- I’m really looking forward to it, it should be an amazing summer.

19 02 2012
Dan

Why this blog is not updated anymore? 😦

19 02 2012
Fireman training

Why this blog is not updated anymore?

Leave a Reply

