Only in Israel

24 06 2007

So, I’m still madly in love with this country.  It’s really wonderful. 

I don’t have great internet access, so I’ve barely been having time to check and answer my personal emails from family and friends, much less post on any blogs, but I just had this quick story to share that I thought was amusing. 

I was on the ambulance today talking to the very secular Israeli medic volunteer about how this was my first time in Israel, and how I hadn’t really gotten a chance to see much of anything.  Now, on the ambulance it’s very clear that I’m religious, since only the religous girls are there wearing skirts over their pants (We have to wear pants, since we can’t have any of our leg not covered by fairly thick fabric for safty reasons, and I really don’t want to be dealing with a long skirt dragging in whatever fluids a person on an ambulance might be leaking.)  He asked if I had gotten a chance to visit the Kotel yet, and when I said yes, but only for a very very short time, he said that I had to go again, and that if I didn’t get a chance to go on my own before the end of the program, to let him know, and he would drive me out there personally so I would get a chance to spend some time at the Kotel.  Now, keep in mind, I’m stationed in Bat Yam, so it’s a 45 minute drive to Jerusalem, much less the Old City from where I am.  I just love the fact that people here will offer to go that far out of their way for someone they don’t really know, to do something that doesn’t matter too much to them, but they know will matter to the person they would be doing a favor for.  🙂  It just made me smile. 

 Have a wonderful week everyone!  I’ll try to post more later! (at this point, I’m thinking I’ll be best able to talk about my trip by just writing a lot of detailed posts at the end of the summer rather than trying to write up substandard ones now.  We’ll see what happens though.)

Actions

Information

7 responses

24 06 2007
michael

I just love the fact that people here will offer to go that far out of their way for someone they don’t really know, to do something that doesn’t matter too much to them, but they know will matter to the person they would be doing a favor for.

Yeah, Israelis are good that way. It’s a great country, even if it is a bit of a balagan sometimes….

26 06 2007
zahava

Shalom
I found your blog while wandering around on the internet. Hope your trip continues to go well. If you ever have time to read my blog, check it out:

http://zahavalaska.blogspot.com

I converted in Pittsburgh PA and moved up to Anchorage AK to work in a synagogue.
l’hitraot,
Zahava

27 06 2007
Miriam

Enjoy Israel! I enjoyed reading your post. Its like seeing Israel anew again! Hey you can check out my blog when you get a chance. http://live-from-israel.blogspot.com/
give me a wave if you get to the Giv’at shaul area! LOL

28 06 2007
muse

You can’t judge a Jew by his/her clothes.
Sometimes you’ll find the greatest spiritual depth in those who aren’t superficially religious, especially when it comes to Israelis.

29 06 2007
tnspr569

Glad to hear you’re enjoying your time there! Israel is full of surprises.

By the way, you’ve been tagged.

http://howtomeasuretheyears.blogspot.com/2007/06/tagged.html

20 09 2007
Daniel

I really enjoy your blog…would love to hear more about your trip to Israel! Glad all went well and you’re back safely..L’Shalom…

25 09 2007
Emily

Daniel- Thanks! Glad you enjoyed the blog, hopefully you’ll be back now that I’ve come back too!

Leave a Reply

